How to cut an onion (without crying)

How to cut an onion (without crying)

We’ve all experienced it, the typical crying over an onion issue.  Although it seemed to me that there was no rime or reason for this, but I have since been corrected.  When you are cutting into an onion, and once you cut into the “bulb” portion of the onion, it releases gases.  These are the gases that cause you to cry. Yes, it really is that simple.
Click here to read a more technical explanation.

Here are some examples of methods people use to cut an onion:

This is a quick video that shows how easy it is to cut an onion without crying.

This isn’t my favorite technique, but if you don’t mind throwing out some of the onion it’s another option.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Ann Marie says:

    I liked the first one a lot and might have to try that – and I agree with you on the second one…you waste like 1/3 of the entire onion! Not cool!

  2. Mandy says:

    I miss that Aussie dude!! He was on all the Coles commercials and he is oh so cute 🙂

    And I like his onion cutting method, I will give it a try!

  3. Jean Abrahamzon says:

    Very neat. I’m going to need to show this to Ed.

Leave a Reply

