The Guilt-Free Perfect Summer Pasta: Chicken, Tomato, & Watercress Wheat Pasta

Long time no blog! haha 🙂 Sorry about the lapse in time between posts, it’s been an amazing and busy summer.  Guess what??? I’M ENGAGED!!!! Perhaps when I learn more about a wedding planning and share my tips and thoughts in future blog posts. But until I know anything about weddings I will continue on my ever-changing and growing healthy recipe endeavor. But alas, I bring you my new favorite pick for the summer, my amazing and healthy pasta dish below. Enjoy!

The Perfect Summer Pasta: Chicken, Tomato, and Watercress Wheat Pasta
The Guilt-Free Perfect Summer Pasta: Chicken, Tomato, and Watercress Wheat Pasta

Ingredients:

  • 2 bunches of watercress leaves, chopped (or a bag of spinach as a cheaper option)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • Dash of salt and pepper
  • 1 tomato, choopped
  • ½ cup wheat pasta of your choice
  • A sprinkle of Parmesan and mozzarella cheese

Directions

  1. Boil water and cooked pasta as directed
  2. Chop onion and place in warm pan
  3. Add garlic, salt and pepper
  4. Sauté ingredients until lightly browned
  5. Add chicken until fully cooked, remove from pan (keep a few onions in the pan) and keep warm.
  6. Put in the watercress and tomatoes to the onions in the pan. Cook until the watercress (or spinach) is wilted.
  7. Add the drained pasta and chicken to the pan with the watercress and tomatoes.
  8. Sauté until the pasta and ingredients and are all warm and mixed well.
  9. Spoon mixture onto plate and top with a sprinkle of mozzarella and Parmesan cheese for a fancy little touch (which I always highly recommend).

Jen’s thoughts and Recommendations:
This is officially my summer pasta dish! Since it’s about 85 degrees here in Duluth, Jay(my fiancé) and I try to stay clear of heavy sauces and pastas, so this was the prefect dish for us pasta lovers.  I tried to branch out my using watercress, but I’m not totally convinced of its qualities for the price I paid.  It’s also really messy and annoying to bring home from the grocery store since it still has its roots and tons of water that it comes with. It’s nice to switch it up once in a while, but next time I make this recipe I’ll definitely using spinach for the better taste and price.

If you use a small amount or no cheese I am pleased to say that this is also diet friendly! I’m still trying to be healthy throughout the summer events (which is sooo hard!) and I love this recipe because it is both fun and healthy.  I’m doing a weightless challenge with my colleagues at work, which is an excellent motivator and that I hope that it will help me get over my long and frustrating plateau of loosing weight. I currently sit at 143 lbs. I have also been trying to switch it up and do some different kinds of exercising, which I think it is helping a lot. I also made a conscious decision that I have to move my 1-1.5 mile run to at least a 2 miles, or perhaps even 3 if I can do it on a regular basis. I’ll let ya know how that goes haha.


The Guilt Free Perfect Summer Pasta: Chicken, Tomato, and Watercress Wheat Pasta
Yumo!
The Guilt Free Perfect Summer Pasta: Chicken, Tomato, and Watercress Wheat Pasta
The Guilt Free Perfect Summer Pasta: Chicken, Tomato, and Watercress Wheat Pasta
The Guilt Free Perfect Summer Pasta: Chicken, Tomato, and Watercress Wheat Pasta
It almost looks to good to be guilt free!!

 

Question for everyone:
What’s your favorite summer dish in this hot weather?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mandy says:

    YUM! The man and I loved this – it’s definitely going in my recipe collection 😀

Leave a Reply

