Lentil and Veggie Stew

Perfect winter soup with lower calories
Perfect winter soup with lower calories

I’ve recently started to LOVE legumes. I first made them in a sausage and legume soup about a month or so ago with my friend Natalie and LOVED them. The only problem was that when we made the soup with sausage there were ALOT more calories. I decided to try without the sausage and I am really glad I did because I don’t even miss the sausage. It’s been UNBEARABLY cold in the northern Wisconsin/Minnesota area (70 days with below 0 degree temperatures). What a perfect time to make homemade soup 🙂

The recipe that inspired me was this Martha Steward recipe, but with many modifications (which is definitely my style).

Check it out and let me know if anyone else has any recipe ideas to use legumes in. I’ve seen roasted legumes, has anyone tried these?

This is a great recipe that you can adapt to what is your freezer/fridge/pantry. Mix and match like me and you will never get the same soup (which I love to do).

Ingredients:

  • One bag dried legumes
  • 1 onion
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp garlic (I used powder but fresh or canned is always better)
  • 1 tsp italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp pepper, add more to taste
  • 5 medium carrots, chopped
  • Greens (I used frozen beet greens but you could use anything like kale or spinach)
  • 4 celery stalks, chopped
  • 4 fresh tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 small can tomato paste
  • 6 tsp stock paste (use whatever kind of stock you have on hand. If you use liquid stock then cut out or reduce the water below)
  • 12 cups water (approximately depending on thick you want your soup)

Put the stock pot on medium heat. Add olive oil and onion (and garlic if it’s fresh). Sauté until a little crispy and brown. Add carrots, greens and tomatoes, cook for 5 minutes. Add Celery. Add stock (and water if not liquid stock) and tomato paste. Cook for approximately 45 minutes to an hour depending on how firm/mushy you like your legumes. I prefer the softer legumes to cooked for about an hour but some don’t like as soft. This makes a big batch. You can vary your thickness simply by adding/not adding more water. It makes roughly 12 servings of 1 1/2 cups. I haven’t tried it yet but this could also be good in a crockpot I think too.

Try it out and let me know how it goes for everyone!

20140302_192005

Lots and lots of legume veggie soup

Leave a Reply

