Hello….it’s Jen

IMG_3096

Since I just LOVE Adele and LOVE “Hello, it’s me…” I just had to….

Well hello there, it’s been so long! I’ve honestly been to caught up with life. Getting a new and intense but awesome job (2 1/2 years ago). Having a baby 11 months ago. Huge huge things and I’ve honestly put my love for cooking food on the back burner. I haven’t had the energy or time but I find myself these days trying to be healthier in an effort to loosing baby weight and in turn cooking more and more. I’m thankful to have an amazing husband by my side though who has really stepped up his cooking game and taken the reins these past couple of years. It’s also been fun to watch my husband cook and see his concoctions as well.

Being the busy mom that I am these days I rushed in the door after work with my son Samuel, let the dog out, and begun my flurry of trying to soothe Samuel, Finnegan and somehow get out of my work clothes in the midst of it all. Since my husband worked later tonight which has happened more often I decided to start dinner with what I had in the chicken. No planned dinner but it was easy, fast, healthy and quite delicious!

I’ve recently gotten back into Weight Watchers so as time permits and I decided to post recipes I will also now be including the SmartPoints as well for my recipes.

Ingredients:

  • Chopped garlic and onion (had this in my fridge from my awesome hubby who did this on Sunday)
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • Spinach (about 1 cup)
  • Mushrooms (about 1/2 cup)
  • Beets (about 3)
  • 4 oz Rotisserie chicken (I’ve been getting these lately on a Sunday, then deboning them and having as a quick protein during the week. It also helps since my partner has become pretty much a vegetarian (minus seafood)
  • Feta to sprinkle on top (about 1 oz)

Directions:

Since Christmas I’ve been really using my cast iron pan and loving it. It takes a little while to warm up so I always start with this say on a 4 heat.

Rinse the spinach and mushrooms.

Add the coconut oil, chopped garlic and onion. Saute until browned.

Add the spinach and mushrooms. While those are cooking I chopped up my beets (I had thawed them and boiled them the night before for a previous meal so I was just using leftovers on this one).

Once the spinach and mushrooms are reduced, add your chicken (which I had already cut into pieces) and beets.

Plate up your amazing meal and sprinkle your feta on.

Weight Watcher Points: 9

1⁄2 cup(s)cooked beets, 0Points
1 oz crumbled feta cheese,3 Points
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil,4 Points
1⁄2 cup(s)fresh mushroom(s),0 Points
4 oz skinless rotisserie chicken breast,2 Points
1 cup(s)fresh spinach,0 Points

If you skipped the feta and oil you would be down to 2 points!!!

So welcome back those who are still following, welcome to those who are new and please all forgive my lack of grammatical skills these days. I wish I could say I got more sleep these days lol…but I do have a 11 month old. I’m going to keep it light and fun 🙂

IMG_3099IMG_3107IMG_3101

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. waterwho says:

    This looks delish! I didn’t realize you loved to cook! This is amazing. What has been your favorite thing to make so far?

    1. Thanks Al!! Yah I haven’t done much lately with Sam but I do love to cook! I also love eating lol!! Hmm…favorite thing…I would say my favorite even though it’s time consuming is sushi!! Such a fun treat and run to roll!

  2. Jean Abrahamzon says:

    Awesome post. Looks so good!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. A busy mom with a busy life who still makes time to cook a healthy dinner is my kinda gal!

    1. Aww thanks!! Much appreciated!!

Leave a Reply

