Make ahead Egg Wonton Cups

I’m horrible at mornings. I always have been bad, but let me tell you…adding a baby to the mix didn’t help my case.

Which leads me to experimenting with a make ahead on Sunday solution that would give me any sanity in a weekday morning. Enter two of my favorites, eggs and wontons.

If you have known me for long you know I love my signature spinach artichoke wonton recipe, but I thought I would try using wontons with eggs instead. Overall a big hit, easy to make and great for reheating. The only thing that was hard for me right now was that breakfast everyday was more heavy on the points side so I want to try to maybe do without the cheese next time and see where that goes. For some reason I really like my toast in the morning, so this ontop of toast is more points than I want to use right away. Again I want to retry this again maybe in the future.

Make ahead Baked Egg Wonton Cups:

Ingredients:

  • 10 Eggs (or you could easily replace with egg whites or customize the count based on your needs. I just wanted to divide equally amongst the 5 weekdays)
  • Spinach (rinsed and chopped)
  • Wonton wrappers (the smaller square ones, not the bigger ones for egg rolls, I usually find in the produce next to the tofu)
  • Goat Cheese

Directions:

Preheat the oven for 350 F degrees.

Spray pam in a 12 muffin pan

Place 1 wonton wrapper for each muffin hole.

Whip together the eggs and spinach. I also added a dash of salt and pepper. You could also easily add milk and other random things like ham or garlic or such.

Put the the eggs in the wonton lined muffin pan.

Bake for 12-15 minutes based on your oven, how done you want them. You could also serve this recipe right way as well just make sure they are good and done.

Top off with goat cheese.

**I stored in a tupperware container than I would take out 2 everyday and reheat in the microwave for about 1-1 1/2 minutes. I found that this seemed to really reheat well. There was something also fun about eating eggs of wontons. Maybe I just didn’t have enough coffee yet though.

 

Weight Watchers Points per serving:  9

  • 2 eggs: 4 points
  • Spinach: 0 points
  • 2 Wonton Wrappers: 2 points
  • 1 oz Goat Cheese: 3 points

Make ahead Baked Egg Wonton Cups:
Make ahead Baked Egg Wonton Cups:
Make ahead Baked Egg Wonton Cups

 

Leave a Reply

